Mat Wall-Smith

I am a digital media theorist/producer/experimentalist currently taking a break from a perpetually unfinished PhD. Very broadly- my thesis is concerned with the integral relation between affect and technics and works toward what might well be described as a diagrammatic encounter of and with their interactions.

I have long being concerned with the recursive dynamic of implication (intensities) and extension (of an always ‘technical’ becoming) described by the body’s particular ‘ways of carrying variation’ and the way this sees the body become instrumental(ised) in a variety of  ‘unities (continuities) of movement and sensation’ (Massumi).

Sometime long ago I worked in sound and music production and both signal-flow and the stubbornly relational in-excess of sound and music remain deeply inscribed in the way I think-feel the world, the way I figure and interact with technics. This informs/propels my analysis of the industry/industries of mind and the design (and implementation) of architectures (models and technologies) through which they extend and are extended.

I dunno – mostly I’m just confused.

Re: Diagramming a life….. I think the Virgo’s amongst us would like that in another post. As a lower piscean i’ll go with that…

One thought on “Mat Wall-Smith

  1. From a Virgo perspective I have to say that this sounds pretty coherent to me. Bring on the book! Look forward to the very neatly separated diagram, although I suspect the amount of recursion you think through, and your immersion in technical becoming could prove interesting when it comes to nice, neat separations.

Leave a Reply

