Michele Barker

Hi all.

By way of introduction, I’ll confess that I’ve never really seen my work in terms of the diagrammatic. I’m a new media artist interested in the relationship of digitally mediated and interactive environments to perception. This (naturally) led me to magic, a theme I’ve been obsessing over for a few years now. As a result, Anna Munster and myself recently created an interactive magic show of sorts.

So, in terms of my attempt at a diagram, I started to think about magic at its most fundamental level – how to do it! For me this diagram highlights possibilities, yet I still have a sense of ‘it’s nothing like the trick itself…’. The other element I’ve included here is my own interactive process for describing what happens when someone interacts with our magician in our virtual space.

magic = perception = a life

2 thoughts on “Michele Barker

  1. Hey Michele, would love to see HokusPokus btw! And this makes me realise I love superimposition and especially ‘=’ … “magic = perception = life’ is a lovely series.

  2. hi Andrew. Funnily enough I fear I’m being too instructional! I need to let my inter diagram loose…
    And yes, I/we missed your feedback on HokusPokus.

Leave a Reply

